Skip Header
Home Global Retirement Survey

Global Retirement Survey

How financially prepared are Hong Kongers for retirement?

Understanding your current retirement savings status is an important step to planning for your golden years. To better understand retirement readiness across regions and identify key actions that should be taken to accomplish retirement goals, Fidelity International recently conducted a global retirement survey in six developed regions.

The survey results reveal that, like most regions, Hong Kong workers are generally not “on target” to sufficiently cover their basic expenses. If no changes are made, they will be unlikely to be able to maintain their pre-retirement lifestyle once they have retired.

What is the Fidelity Global Retirement Survey?

The Fidelity Global Retirement Survey is a comprehensive online survey, with responses from nearly 14,000 workers across the United Kingdom, Germany, Japan, Hong Kong, Canada and the United States. 

Based on our retirement survey data and methodology, we have calculated a Fidelity Retirement Readiness Score for each region, which ranges from 0 to 150+. This score indicates whether if people are on track to maintain their pre-retirement lifestyle in retirement. The higher the score, the better prepared they are to cover their estimated expenses in retirement.

None

Most workers not ready for retirement 

The median Retirement Readiness Scores across the regions surveyed range from 73 to 83. The regional scores suggest that most workers across regions are not on track to sufficiently cover all their estimated retirement expenses and are likely to make at least modest adjustments to their desired lifestyles in retirement. 

In addition, respondents expressed that the retirement planning process is very complicated, and many feel “they don't know where to start” or “haven’t thought about retirement yet”. A lack of financial knowledge is also one of the main barriers to planning for their retirement.

None

Retirement Readiness varies widely in Hong Kong

The median Retirement Readiness Score for Hong Kong workers is 75, which is considered “fair”. This indicates that Hong Kong workers are on track to cover only 75% of Fidelity’s estimate of their required retirement expenses and, without any changes, would not be able to maintain their pre-retirement lifestyle after they retire.

It is worth noting that there is a significant difference in median retirement scores across age groups (as shown in the table below). The scores range from 53 for older workers with a monthly household income between HK$15,000 and HK$30,000, to 89 for younger workers with an income between HK$30,000 and HK$50,000.

Younger workers are in a stronger position with a median score of 87 across all income groups. The survey revealed that the median saving for Post 80s and Posts 90s are HK$890,000 and HK$409,000. This group have a relatively higher potential retirement balance and benefits from a longer investment time span. With well-diversified asset allocation, they may be able to capture potential growth over the years, leading to higher retirement savings.

In contrast, the median score for older workers is 63 and some low-income workers in this group scored the lowest in the entire survey. A rather late start to retirement planning, as well as an excessively conservative asset allocation, have contributed to the lower scores. This shows that the older generation faces the greatest challenge in achieving retirement readiness and they may need to work longer and retire later.

Though middle-aged workers score higher with a median of 76, their retirement preparedness is still not on track. Fortunately, this group has at least a decade to enhance their readiness before reaching the legal retirement age of 65.

None

Key pre-retirement steps to improve retirement readiness

We have identified three key steps that may help workers improve their retirement readiness:

  • Raise savings – The study reveals that Hongkongers’ median savings rate is 19% of their pre-tax annual income (excluding MPF contributions1). Fidelity’s Retirement Savings Guidelines suggest that, in general, Hong Kong workers should save 20%2 of their annual income for retirement. The more workers save, the higher the probability of reaching their retirement goals.

    Apart from private saving channels, there are options for workers to increase MPF contributions voluntarily, such as Tax-Deductible Voluntary Contributions (TVC). Our research reveals that 40% of respondents are motivated to increase their retirement savings due to tax incentives like TVC. Fidelity launched the TVC scheme in April 2019 — to learn more about it, please click here.
  • Review asset mix – Our analysis finds that some Hong Kong workers have extreme asset allocation. For example, 48% of younger workers have 25% or less allocation to equities, while 22% of older workers invest at least 75% of their holdings in equities. It shows that their investment strategy is either too aggressive or too conservative, which will impact retirement readiness. Following an age-appropriate strategy with well-diversified asset allocation can help build a portfolio with long-term growth potential, thus boosting the retirement readiness score.   
     
  • Revisit retirement plan – Working longer gives people more time to accumulate savings. According to the survey, the median target retirement age of Hong Kong workers is 63. However, they should consider delaying their retirement to age 65. 

    None

Taking the above three key steps, the median Hong Kong Retirement Readiness Score could potentially increase to 119 — categorised as “on target” to cover estimated retirement expenses. Not all these steps are possible or necessary for all workers. However, when circumstances are appropriate, those who take as many of the steps as early as possible before retiring may benefit greatly.  

1 Based on an assumed 5% contribution each from employee and employer, for a total of 10% contribution.
2 Fidelity Retirement Savings Guidelines is based on four key metrics - savings milestones, savings rate, income replacement rate and probable sustainable withdrawal rate. Fidelity Retirement Savings Guidelines suggest that people in Hong Kong should save 12 times their annual income by the age of 65 and save at least 20% of pre-tax income in order to maintain their current lifestyle in retirement. The Fidelity Retirement Savings Guidelines are for reference only and certain assumptions are applied.

Act now to prepare for your retirement

None

Retirement Savings Guidelines

Rules of thumb that make retirement planning simple

None

Power of Small Amounts

Saving just 1% more may make all the difference

None

Tax Deductible Voluntary Contributions (TVC)

Boost your savings, pay less tax

About the Fidelity Global Retirement Survey

The survey population consisted of respondents with the following qualifying conditions: individuals aged 20-75 years old; working full-time or part-time or have spouse working full-time or part-time; not retired; expecting to retire someday; with or without retirement savings; the main financial decision maker or equal joint main financial decision maker in the household; a minimum household income of United States: $20,000 annually;  United Kingdom: £10,000 annually; Germany: €20,000 annually; Hong Kong: HK$15,000 monthly; Japan: ¥3,000,000 annually; Canada: CA$10,000 annually.

The research and analysis were completed for the United Kingdom, United States, Canada, Germany, Hong Kong and Japan. Data collection was completed in partnership with Ipsos, a global market and opinion research specialist, who collected and collated data for each region in September 2019.

About the Fidelity Retirement Readiness Score and pre-retirement steps

The Retirement Readiness Score offers a simple, intuitive, standardised (consistent and comparable) measure of the degree to which one is financially on track for retirement, as well as a means of evaluating the potential improvement associated with improved retirement behaviours.

The goal is to gain a better understanding of where workers across the world are today when it comes to retirement readiness and how this readiness varies within a given region. Our analysis looks at retirement savings and spending, not only to provide a more comprehensive picture of the state of retirement readiness, but also to offer people specific steps that can be taken to improve their likelihood of living the lifestyle they expect in retirement.

The score is based on a 150-point scale where zero indicates a person is projected to be unable to meet any of the retirement expenses estimated to be necessary to maintain one’s pre-retirement lifestyle in retirement and 150 means a person is projected to be able to meet 150% of those retirement expenses.

The Fidelity Retirement Readiness Score is calculated using Fidelity’s proprietary methodology which consists of region-specific modelling assumptions that are applied to survey data. More specifically, the methodology looks at age, marital status, gender, asset allocation, savings rate, accumulated savings, other income sources, retirement age, and life expectancy to estimate income needs in retirement. The estimated income needs, determined through Fidelity’s evaluation of national income and expenditure data, taxation and pension data are then compared to projected retirement savings balances and other income sources to determine the extent of retirement readiness.

The three key pre-retirement steps — raise savings, review asset mix, and revisit retirement plan — applied individually, or in combination, will have a positive impact on retirement readiness. The impact of increasing savings and adopting an age-appropriate asset mix will be greater for those further from retirement due to the longer remaining accumulation period. Retirement readiness will benefit to a greater extent when the impact of these positive actions can play out over a longer period. Improvements can vary significantly based on how far one’s current behaviours/plans deviate from the targets associated with each step and how much time one has between one’s current age and planned retirement for the potential benefits to manifest themselves. The impact of the steps can vary from country to country depending on the current and projected savings amounts, asset allocation and estimated retirement ages reported by survey respondents.

Important notice

This information is intended to be educational and is not tailored to the investment needs of any specific investor. This information does not constitute investment advice and should not be used as the basis for any investment decision nor should it be treated as a recommendation for any investment or action.

Investment involves risks. Past performance is no guarantee of future results. The value of investments and the income from them can go down as well as up, so you may not get back what you invest. Stock markets are volatile and can decline significantly in response to adverse issuer, political, regulatory, market, or economic developments.

Skip Header
主頁 環球退休調查

環球退休調查

香港人是否為退休生活做足準備?

掌握當前的財務狀況,是規劃退休的重要一步。

為更了解不同地區在職人士的退休準備度,富達國際在全球六個已發展地區進行了環球退休調查,結果發現受訪地區人士,包括香港人皆未有足夠資金應付退休後基本開支,若不作出任何改善,港人將難以維持退休前的生活模式。

富達環球退休調查是什麼?

富達環球退休調查是一份全面性的網上調查,在英國、德國、日本、香港、加拿大及美國進行,共調查了近1.4萬名「打工仔」。根據調查方式及數據,計算出各受訪地區「退休準備度的分數」。分數反映各地打工仔在退休後是否有足夠資產支付退休基本生活開支,分數範圍為0至150分或以上,分數越高預計準備越充裕。

無

各地打工仔皆準備不足

六個受訪地區的退休準備度分數中位數介乎於73分至83分,反映這些地區的「打工仔」退休準備不足,未來將缺乏資金應付退休後的預計開支。所以,他們有必要適當地調整理想中的退休生活模式。

普遍受訪者坦言規劃退休過程複雜,或不知從何入手,有受訪者更指未曾籌劃退休大計。此外缺乏理財知識亦是他們籌備退休大計的障礙之一。

無

不同年齡層,退休準備度大相徑庭

香港情況也不例外,香港的退休準備度分數僅75分。富達預計他們退休後只足夠支付基本生活開支的75%,難以維持退休前原有的生活模式,因此有需要改善現時退休部署。

值得注意的是,年輕一族及年長一輩的分數大相徑庭,如下圖所示,月入為1.5萬至3萬港元的年長一輩得分僅為53分,反之月入3萬至5萬港元的年青人得分為89分,差距十分大。

年青人退休準備度較佳,整體分數為87。得分較高是基於他們將擁有較高的潛在退休儲備。調查發現80後及90後現時的退休儲備中位數為89萬及40.9萬港元,雖然現時的儲備總額較年長一族少,但他們擁有較長投資年期來為退休儲蓄增值,因此分數得以提高。

相反,年長人士卻只得63分,部分收入較低的一群所得的分數更是整項調查中最低,情況強差人意,主要因為他們較遲部署退休計劃、投資組合保守,加上距離退休年齡不遠,其儲備的潛在增長相對有限,預計部分人離職後將面臨較嚴重的財務困難,他們或需推遲退休年齡,留守職場工作多一段時間,以賺取更多退休儲備。

至於中年人士,分數比年老人士為高,可是其中位數亦只為76分,仍反映他們的退休準備度不理想,可幸的是,他們離法定65歲退休年齡仍有十多年的時間,因此還有時間改善情況。

無

三步曲提升準備度

退休準備不足已成不爭的事實,但更重要的是如何改善呢? 此次調查提出三步曲:

  • 一步曲:增加退休儲蓄
    調查指出港人平均儲蓄率為稅前年薪的19%(不包括強積金供款1),但據 「富達儲蓄退休法則」的建議,港人儲蓄率應為20%2,提升儲蓄能有效協助他們完成理想的退休大計。

    除了個人儲蓄外,在職人士亦可考慮不同的方式進行額外退休儲蓄,例如可扣稅自願性供款(TVC)計劃。調查發現40%受訪者認為扣稅優惠,是增加額外退休儲蓄的誘因。去年4月,富達亦推出TVC計劃 ,請按此了解 更多詳情
  • 二步曲:檢閱資產組合
    調查發現部分受訪者的資產配置過於進取或保守,當中有48%較為保守的年輕人將25%或少於的資產配置於股票及股票基金類別;相反,有22%較為進取的年長人士將75%或上的資產配置於股票組合。其實過於進取或保守的投資策略也是不建議的,如果能隨年歲及不同人生階段來調整合適的資產組合,有效地分散配置,整體退休準備度將能提升。
  • 三步曲:審視退休大計
    留守職場更久可累積更多退休儲備。調查發現,香港人理想的退休年齡中位數為63歲,若延長在職年期2年至65歲才退休,將帶來更穩健的退休生活。

無

我們明白這三步曲並非所有港人能夠履行,若能適度或全面實踐,對準備退休生活大有裨益。若能全實踐這三步曲,港人退休準備度分數將跳升至119分,躍身成為「進度理想」行列,有足夠能力應付退休後的生活開支。

1 假設僱員供款5%及僱主供款5%,合共10%。
2 「 富達退休儲蓄法則」透過四個關鍵參數 — 儲蓄進度計、每年儲蓄率、入息替代率及潛在可持續提取率,基於若干假設,僅供參考之用。「富達退休儲蓄法」則建議港人65歲退休時需擁有相當於年薪12倍的儲蓄及每年儲蓄最少20%課稅前收入,以維持退休後生活方式不變。

現即行動做好退休準備

無

富達退休儲蓄法則

令退休規劃變得輕鬆的簡易法則

無

小改變 大不同

多儲蓄1% 或造就不一樣的未來

無

可扣稅自願性供款(TVC)

為退休儲多點 可扣稅多一點

關於富達環球退休調查

受訪者須符合以下條件:個人年齡介乎20至75歲;個人或配偶擔任全職或兼職工作;尚未退休;預計日後將會退休;擁有或並無擁有退休儲蓄;是家庭的主要財政決策者或共同的主要財政決策者;家庭最低收入:美國為每年20,000美元;英國為每年10,000英鎊;德國為每年20,000歐元;香港為每月15,000港元;日本為每年3,000,000日圓 ;加拿大為每年10,000加元。 

是次研究和分析在英國、美國、加拿大、德國、香港及日本進行,並與專門從事全球市場和意見調查研究機構Ipsos合作收集數據,該公司在2019年9月於各個地區收集和整理數據。

關於富達環球退休準備度分數和三項退休建議

退休準備度分數(Retirement Readiness Score)旨在提供一個簡單易明的標準化(一致和可作比較)方法,以量度個人在退休準備方面的財政充裕度,以及評估如何透過改善退休行為以提升準備度。我們就各地區的儲蓄和開支情況進行分析,目的是更全面了解全球僱員現時的退休準備度,同時比較各區內的差異,向大眾提供具體的意見,從而協助他們諦造理想的退休生活。

分數範圍是0至150或以上,0分代表受訪者無法應付預計的退休開支,在退休後無法維持退休前的原有生活方式,而150分則代表受訪者能應付150%的預計退休開支。

富達利用專有的方法計算退休準備度分數,包括將各區專有的模式假設應用於調查數據中。具體來說,該項計算方法分析受訪者的年齡、婚姻狀況、性別、資產配置、儲蓄率、累計儲蓄、其他收入來源、退休年齡及預期壽命,以估算退休時的收入需要。富達透過評估全國收入和開支數據、賦稅和退休金的數據來決定退休預估收入需要,然後與預期的退休儲蓄結餘和其他收入來源作比較,以評估在職人士的退休準備度。

三項退休建議:增加退休儲蓄、檢閱資產配置以及審視退休大計。單獨及同時實行這些建議,將有助提升在職人士的退休準備度。對於距離退休尚有一段較長時間的人士來說,增加儲蓄和隨年齡而調整的資產配置所能發揮的效用較大,因為他們有更長的時間累積儲備,因此其退休準備度將會明顯提升。

退休準備度能否顯著改善,將視乎個人現時的行為或退休計劃與建議定下的每項目標偏離程度,及現時年齡與預計退休年齡的差距所能把握令資金滾存的潛在機會而有所不同。同時每項建議在不同國家所發揮的效用或有差距,這些都視乎受訪者現有和預計儲蓄金額、資產配置及預計退休年齡。

注意事項

本文資料擬作教育用途,並無根據任何特定投資者的投資需要而設定。本文並不構成投資建議,不應作為投資決定的基礎,亦不應視之為任何投資或行動的建議。

投資涉及風險。基金過去的表現並非未來業績的保證。投資價值及收益可升可跌,投資者或未能取回投資本金。股市表現反覆波動,可能受到發行人、政治、監管、市場或經濟的不利發展因素而顯著下跌。